Election Update

With the resignation of Cody Hull as a member of the Council of the Town of Craik effective March 5, 2018, the voters of Craik will be choosing a replacement in a by-election which must take place before September 5, 2018.

The date of the by-election is not yet set, but it is expected to take place sometime in June 2018.

The individual elected in this by-election will serve on Council until the general municipal elections in the Fall of 2020.

If one becomes a councillor, he or she can expect to be blamed for every thing that is wrong in the community, to have self-identified experts explaining to him or her how council is doing everything backwards, and if the ‘expert’ was listened to, the world would be perfect.

The councillor can expect to be criticised often, praised occasionally, and thanked rarely.

On the other hand, serving on Council is one of the very best ways that a committed individual can make a great deal of difference in the life of the community.

Being on Council is a way to make sure that all voices in the community are heard, not just the ones that are the noisiest.

It is a way to ensure justice and compassion for all. It is a position that brings the satisfaction of a job well done and the joy of knowing that you have made the world in general, and your community in particular, a better place.

In addition to the monthly regular meeting, councillors can expect to spend a minimum of ten hours a week on committee work and other town business.

Currently councillors receive an honorarium of $150 per official meeting.

To be eligible for election as councillor an individual must be a Canadian citizen of at least eighteen years of age who has lived in Saskatchewan for at least six months and in the community for at least three months prior to the date on which his or her nominations papers are filed.

The deadline for nominations is approximately one month before the by-election The date of the by-election will be set by Town Council at its next regular meeting April 12, 2018

For more information contact Sarah Wells at the Town Office, or phone (306) 734.2250.